The main building of this Eastern Shore Riverfront Inn was built in 1864 and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. While retaining the property’s architectural grandeur and historic charm, many practical features have been updated, including modernized bathrooms and a gourmet kitchen. The first floor features two formal dining rooms, a spacious living room for guest use, a pub-style breakfast room, a powder room, the inn’s large kitchen, and a private living room for the innkeepers. Each room showcases original (now decorative) fireplaces, save for the powder room and kitchen. The kitchen has been outfitted with a wide array of commercial equipment and is ready for the possibility of expanded food service. The 6,000+ square foot building houses four guest rooms on the second floor. These spacious rooms feature comfy seating and private bathrooms. Each of the three guest cottages are uniquely configured:
- The two-story Cypress House has three bedrooms, two-and-a-half bathrooms, and a great room with a fully equipped kitchen.
- River Cottage is a ground floor king suite, with a spa tub and private screened porch.
- Waterfront Cottage has two king suites, on two floors, each with a large porch overlooking the river.
Detailed descriptions of all rooms and cottages can be viewed here.
The owner’s quarters occupy the third floor of the main house and include a large bedroom, an office/sitting area, bathroom, and ample storage. The innkeeper’s living room on the first floor adjoins the kitchen and overlooks the inn’s swimming pool, providing a comfortable retreat when “on duty” or off.